Responding to “Sams Freedom …,” responding to Valarie Stevens

So someone I follow on twitter put up a lengthy blog post of recommendations for Twitter and blogging and got an interesting comment to the effect “you’ll never make money putting good info like this for free on the Internet.”  (Of course, I’m paraphrasing and, of course, I’m biased!  That’s the reason for this post.)

And I couldn’t fit my reply in 140 characters (hence this blog!).

But I couldn’t disagree more.  Sure you may be able to make money by selling this information, but I wouldn’t pay more than $1 for it as good as it is, and most likely not even that.  While I personally wouldn’t buy it, a lot of people may.  Some may even think they got a bargain.  But that wouldn’t add to your circle, and it would limit not increase your influence.

Bear in mind I come from the software world, where open-source is my friend: software that does so much, including operating systems for free.  Of course you should give back, and of course there is more to the story, but the line is this:

We’re talking about the Internet here, where Wikipedia makes the knowledge of the whole world available for free.  And if Web 2.0 is about anything, it’s a giving and sharing community.  There are ways to profit legitimately (selling goods and services, etc.), and then there’s the make-a-buck-quick anyway you can people.

Here’s my bottom line.  I think the blog post in question is completely apropos, and maybe it could be sold, but then a lot of people who won’t pay would miss out.  As it stands, the Valarie has my good will and more likely to get a recommendation from me, while a salesperson would not have either….

Expect this to be udpated in response to comments I get (or don’t).

Leave a Reply

