My Functional Programming Intro

This is not yet a lot of direct info (that’s coming, I promise), but rather the oral history of what sparked my interest: besides F# (I still have to write my commentary on that, but I found another resource there: [UPDATE] Robert Pickering)

Well, okay, maybe that’s the gist of it: that and Dr. Dobb’s Journal — but now I’m doing my investigating; I installed F# on my laptop, and OCaml, also OCaml on my (personal) PowerBook.

I started this process, but I’m not done yet:

I’m following the process described here: Building a Social Media Cheat Sheet

First, using http://delicious.com/tag/blog+functional+programming; (I found that installing GreaseMonkey and using the scripts mentioned was ludicrously simply.)
Second, I had to convert the OPML file to UTF-8 because NewsFire on the Mac saved it Unicode, or else I accidentally converted it in TextEdit when I removed the extraneous feeds… 

Well, I found the homepage of Philip Wadler, and OCaml best practices; oh! and here’s Learning Haskell, and this looks interesting: Programming in the 21st Century., finally (over the weekend) Lambda the Ultimate.  (Some of these are general programming blogs/websites, but have an entry or two about functional programming.)  
And the blog defmacros doesn’t seem to have an RSS feed, but should be checked sometimes as well — and at that site is also a nice intro to fp. (I’ve read that somewhere before;  I’m starting to abbreviate, but I think it’s clear what I mean.)

I may need to learn Haskell. It’s just that searching for FP stuff, I keep hitting this lang.

N.B.  I just need somewhere to direct people to give notice that I’m starting to investigate the whys and wherefores of functional programming…  I’ve started following people on Twitter, and looking for more info.

6 Responses to “My Functional Programming Intro”

  1. Don Stewart Says:

    Perhaps check out the Haskell blog community on reddit:
    http://www.reddit.com/r/haskell/ and on Planet Haskell:

    http://planet.haskell.org

    Lots of social media :)

    • gparks Says:

      I’ll have to do that — I don’t know if I like being “pushed” to Haskell, yet. I need to check it out…

  2. Tracy Harms Says:

    Since you’re looking at your options for functional programming languages let me add one you might not have noticed, the one named J. It is Ken Iverson’s redesign of APL, which, like Lisp, had an important role in the emergence of the functional programming.

    J is a notational language that counts as “hybrid” rather than “functionally pure”, but is heavily biased toward function-level composition.

    http://www.jsoftware.com/

    J provides a distinct alternative to the better-known functional approaches of the Lisp and ML language families.

    • gparks Says:

      Is J the language I “experimented with” in my younger days? Does it have built-in matrix data type? (has it been around for years?) Maybe, I’ll check. There wasn’t a good dev. env. years ago…

  3. Tracy Harms Says:

    Yes, that’s the one. In J all data is handled as arrays. (Even the programs are arrays, but that’s a bit more subtle.)

    Glad to know you’ve taken a look at it. It has matured significantly, but the development environment is probably still scant in comparison with what many languages have. So far I’ve not felt constrained by any of those limitations, fwiw.

  4. My 2nd Functional Programming Intro « More than a Tweet Says:

    […] More than a Tweet Random Thoughts and Musings « My Functional Programming Intro […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,173 other followers

